Privacy / Contact Us

Source Water Protection

Source Protection Committee Members

We are looking for new members for the Source Protection Committee (SPC)!

There is a vacancy on the South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe (SGBLS) Source Protection Committee for one public sector member and two economic sector members.

Within the economic sector we are particularly interested in hearing from people with experience in transport (e.g. road, rail) or urban development. Within the public sector we are interested in hearing from people with experience in environmental issues. We will also be consulting with a number of sector organizations in our search for members. There are currently no vacancies within the agricultural sector.

Members are asked to make a 5 year commitment to serve on the SPC. During this period the committee will meet two to three times per year in the Barrie area. Meetings are typically held during a weekday afternoon. SPC members are reimbursed for their time (a per diem) and travel (mileage) when attending meetings.

View the complete description of duties

Read the Code of Conduct

Download the Application (note the deadline is May 31, 2016)

For further information, contact Bill Thompson, Manager of Integrated Watershed Management for Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority at 905-895-1281 ext 271 or via email at

The current composition of the Source Protection Committee is as follows:

Chair Lynn Dollin Councillor, Town of Innisfil
Municipal (7) John Boucher Severn Sound watershed
  Clayton Cameron Black River watershed
  Herb Proudley Severn Sound watershed
  Rick Newlove Nottawasaga Valley watershed
  Stan Wells Nottawasaga Valley watershed
  Richard Forward Lake Simcoe watershed

Wendy Kemp Lake Simcoe watershed
Economic (7) Colin Elliott Agriculture
  Chris Galway Aggregate producers
  John Hemsted Agriculture
  Colin Nisbet Golf industry
  Dave Ritchie Agriculture
  Gerry Brouwer Industrial / commercial sector
  David Ketcheson Industrial / commercial sector
Public (7) Dianne Corrigan Town of Newmarket, Public at large
  Bob Duncanson Dufferin County, Public at large
  Stephanie Hobbs Town of Midland, Environment
  Tom Kurtz Horseshoe Valley, Public at large
  Alex Millar City of Orillia, Public at large
  Fred Ruf Victoria Harbour, Health
  Larry Slomka Town of Innisfil, Health
First Nations (3) Dan Shilling Chippewas of Rama First Nation

Rules of Procedure, Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest (pdf file)